Havergal Brian – Symphony n.1 “Gothic”

Havergal Brian - "Gothic" Symphony

Last updated Mar 3, 2020 | Published on Aug 1, 2019

Written by Gianmaria Griglio

Havergal Brian (born William Brian, 1876–1972) was an extremely prolific British classical composer. 

His First Symphony (out of 32), written between 1919 and 1927 and known as the “Gothic” symphony, is to this day his most famous work. It needs to be said though that a lot of his music has never been performed, mostly due to the scale of the works.

This first symphony was, in fact, the second: in 1967 Brian renumbered his symphonies eliminating the Fantastic Symphony of 1907. 

Attracted and inspired by Richard Strauss (to whom the piece is dedicated), influenced by Mahler’s titanic visions, Brian’s works require massive forces: the First Symphony calls for 190 orchestra players, an adult choir of 500, a children choir of 100 and 4 soloists. Almost 800 musicians, one of the largest orchestral force for a concert piece.

Clocking at 1 hour and 40 minutes, the symphony is divided in two parts:

First part
I – Allegro assai
II – Lento espressivo e solemne (attacca)
III – Vivace (attacca)

Second part
IV – Te Deum laudamus. Allegro moderato sempre marcato e con brio
V – Judex crederis esse venturus. Adagio solenne e religioso
VI – Te ergo quaesumus. Moderato e molto sostenuto

Here is a performance of it with the BBC Symphony Orchestra led by Sir Adrian Boult.

For the real music buffs, here’s a version with the score.

The Gothic element of the symphony refers to the vision of the Gothic age (from about 1150 to 1500): a giant expansion in artistic and intellectual development, evident especially in the architecture of the monumental cathedrals built in this period of time. The massive choral ending the symphony evokes the grandeur and details of those buildings.

The Havergal Brian Society has plenty of material on this fascinating yet still rather obscure composer.


Cover image by Dean Moriarty


Gianmaria Griglio

Welcome to my blog. I hope you’ll enjoy it: don’t forget to leave a comment, I always enjoy reading your opinions!

SMP Press

Find my music on SMP Press

Pass the baton – video course

Pass the baton


La notte di Yalda Camille Claudel Caravaggio

Conducting Pills

A FREE video series with an analysis of structure, phrasing, and, of course, conducting tips of repertoire works: from Mozart to Brahms, from Beethoven to Debussy. A new episode every week!

Read next…

Frederick Delius – La Calinda

Frederick Delius – La Calinda

The single most famous musical passage from Delius’ third opera “Koanga” contains the melody known as La Calinda, which is the only part of the score that has remained famous in the concert hall.

Henri Duparc – Lénore

Henri Duparc – Lénore

Due to mental illness, Duparc destroyed most of his music: Lénore, one of the few left, is a symphonic poem based on one of the most popular ballads in German literature.

Hans von Bülow – Nirvana

Hans von Bülow – Nirvana

Legendary conductor Hans von Bülow, considered by Wagner the only one who could conduct his operas, was also a composer.

“Nirvana” is a symphonic poem and one of the few works of his that survived.

Submit a Comment

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This